Discover Your Love Language

Do you know what makes you or someone you are close to feel loved?  We can help you find out with our brief overview of the “5 Love Languages”.  These categories were introduced in a 1995 book by Gary Chapman. He explains five key ways to give and receive love. Whether it is ‘Acts of Service’, ‘Words of Affirmation’, ‘Receiving Gifts’, ‘Quality Time’,  or ‘Physical Touch’ a little of any of them can go a long way when it comes to staying connected. And they aren’t only for your wife or husband, these can be expressed with your friends and family too. Let’s dive in!

  1. Acts of Service:  Are there things that need to be done around the house, an errand to run, did they call you last minute to pick them up?  If ‘Acts of Service’ is their love language be the first to take action! Keep a positive attitude through it all and they will feel your affection for them as you vacuum the living room floor.  This doubles two-fold, it meets their emotional needs and both your survival necessities. These individuals believe “actions speak louder than words”
  2. Words of Affirmation:  “You’re gorgeous!" "You look so handsome with that chainsaw in your hands.”  “I love how spontaneous you are.” People with ‘Words of Affirmation’ as their primary yearning want to hear your thoughts about what they mean to you.  Whisper sweet nothings into their ears throughout the day or send them an endearing text, write them a letter. Declare you acknowledge their strengths and they will be giddy inside. They may even return that colloquial kindness back to you!
  3. Receiving Gifts:  Present your love! (Pun intended :P) When ‘Receiving Gifts’ opens their heart don’t panic.  These gifts don’t need to cost a lot of money they only require a lot of thought. So be creative, figure out what their passions are and give into that.  They will appreciate the time you spent thinking of them coming up with an idea they can show to the world that symbolizes your relationship.
  4. Quality Time:  In this day and age our undivided attention is atypical.  “Quality Time” means no external media intake or other distractions. It’s the moments with just you and them that they adore. All you need to do is keep your face out of the phone and be in the now together. They will definitely notice your intentional effort to keep them in your focus.
  5. Physical Touch:  Aren’t you lucky! They cherish being close to you. It can be small interactions of brief contact - a brush on the shoulder as you pass by them, sitting so close your bodies are gently pressed together, or a simple kiss on the cheek.  These embraces will communicate a strong sense of mutual devotion.

These 5 simple ways to share your love are so powerful when used with attentive awareness of what your partner relates with most. So make note of what made you feel adored and appreciated. It’s time to share and discover with your partner what moves them too. Enjoy and... you’re welcome! ;)


Did you enjoy this post? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below!


Great article. I agree that these five points work together in order to have a love that lasts a lifetime. Wanting to share that love with your partner is the reward.

Anonymous January 31, 2019

This was nice! Thanks for the reminder of how to keep love alive every day!

Anonymous January 31, 2019

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published

Shop now

"Every piece begins with a dream and ends with a story."

Kathryn Pearce